Curecanti scholarships awarded

The Curecanti Medical Society (CMS) proudly announces that eight area students have been awarded scholarships in honor of the late Dr. George G. Balderston. The CMS Scholarship program originated over 30 years ago to assist students in pursuing a career in the medical field. The Montrose area physicians of the CMS fund the scholarships, which are awarded annually by the Curecanti Medical Society. Each student was awarded $750 to further their education.

Recognized this year from left to right are Rheann Smedley, enrolled in the AAS RN Program at Colorado Mesa University; Sonja Lopez, pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing at Colorado Mesa University; Natalie Allinson, enrolled in the AAS RN Program at Colorado Mesa University; Leatha O’Dell, pursuing study in Computed Tomography at Colorado Mesa University; Meka Wilson, pursuing education as a Licensed Practical Nurse at Technical College of the Rockies; Ben Larson, enrolled at Colorado Mesa University RN-BSN degree completion program; Loretta Scheetz, completing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (RN-BSN) at Western Governors University and (not pictured) Marietta King enrolled in the RN-BSN Degree Completion program at Colorado Mesa University. 

Dr. Gayle Frazzetta, President of the Curecanti Medical Society, is pictured at right with the scholarship recipients


About the author

Mavis Bennett

Mavis Bennett

A western Colorado resident for most of her life, Mavis Bennett is the publisher of the Montrose Monitor. She has written for newspapers and magazines more than three decades and founded the popular Monitor Magazine in 2003. This web site is the logical progression for the Monitor.